Home Sweet Home (is on its way)

Who says sustainability is a luxury only the rich can afford?

I’ve been an optimist my whole life. I think that if you want something bad enough you can probably make it happen. The trick is staying open and flexible enough to realize there are a million ways to do any one thing. Remembering that helps us find solutions whenever we feel like we’ve hit a dead-end or a brick wall. What we think is what we end up living. If we think small we will live a small life.  This tiny house is my attempt to think and live big in a simple but beautiful, tiny, sustainable and self-contained home of our own making. We want it to be a work of art you can live in.

My life experience will be one thing if I emphasize this set of “facts”: We have no land, we are pushing 50, I’ve never built anything larger than a bookshelf, We are currently under-employed and the economy is crumbling.

My life experience will be an altogether different experience if I emphasize these “facts” instead: I’ve got my health, I know how to use a ruler and power tools, My husband has building/remodeling experience, we have access to recycled building materials,  and thanks to the amazing networking abilities of the internet I have not only heard that it’s possible to build a home on wheels (thus eliminating the need to purchase land immediately) but I have seen them in action on the lovely videos they have posted. So what more do I need? I’m glad you asked.  Look at the Wish List page for details.

Like the story about the spinner’s daughter (see fable page) We will draw on all of our past experiences to create our biggest project yet. All the permaculture and sustainable housing workshops, the sculpture classes, house painting and repair jobs, every toy and gift I’ve ever made out of wood, the dorm room “furniture” and tree house of my youth, will come together to guide and inspire me while creating our very own home on wheels. It will be a synthesis of old and new, function and beauty. As William Morris once said:  “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.” We’re going to apply this to philosophy to the very design of the house itself!

Like Victorian architecture and gypsy wagons, our intention is to build a work of art we can live in.


This will be the experiment: to create beautiful, affordable, cozy, sustainable, self-sufficiency – on wheels. It will be an effort to apply what I know, to live what I believe, while at the same time finding a somewhat obscure alternative road to housing. For years I’ve felt that it is a luxury to really live sustainably. You need land, money, independent income etc. I’ve done some homework, stumbled upon some new (and old) technologies and I’m now prepared to prove myself wrong. I enjoy a good challenge especially the kind that allows me to grow, push the envelope, step outside the box, and expand.

My earliest memories are of taking my little red (gypsy) wagon around the block, singing as I went along. As an adult I owned an Airstream trailer which facilitated going back to college without accumulating huge debt. I was inspired to start this project, to dream this dream into being, by the Tiny House Blog by Kent Griswold and the numerous other builders I found there. They were all so inspiring that now I am obsessed and running full steam ahead into this project to make it happen. I’ve never been so excited about anything in my life. At long last the gypsy wagon of my dreams will become a reality. Lucky for me I’m not too bad with a hammer and power tools.   I’ll invite you all over for a house-warming party but maximum occupancy is about three so you’ll have to take turns.

My inner child at play

Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “Home Sweet Home (is on its way)
  1. Miriam says:

    brilliant! i’d expect nothing else!
    did you see the article in YES! mag., cover article on tiny houses…
    can’t wait to hear more.
    besos,
    m

    • limacatz says:

      Yes I did see the YES! article. Bought the mag in fact. Looks like the tiny house thing is big here in OR. We might have come to the right place.

  2. Theresa McCune says:

    I too, want to build a tiny house to go back to college. I can’t afford a mortgage and rent, so my solution is to build something that will be paid off in no time. It’s the only thing that’s kept me from going back to college for so long. It’s good to see someone else had the same idea, and I’m not just crazy, or having a midlife crisis. Thanks for posting your blog.

Leave a Reply

We have landed and after all the struggle, adventure, drama etc it all seems so worthwhile. We are now parked in a lovely and peaceful place just north of Santa Rosa. Bucolic bliss has become a reality. I got everything on my list: well water, garden, wildlife, quiet (can't even hear airplanes!) and lovely neighbors. Thanks to everyone for the prayers, help, moral support, and patience during this challenging project. About another year and we should be finished.... Ha : )

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

This Tiny Home was one of our first inspirations.
Blog Stats
  • 108,350 hits
