July 15

Despite some folks pessimism about our abilities to finish this project on time, the project indeed made major progress today.  The house is wrapped and windows in.  Even the door jamb was installed (more or less).  That means today will put on siding.  Weee. So excited about that.

I wouldn’t have made it through the day without the major optimism and assistance of Pacifico’s brother Zadig.  And the sound and expert advice of our next door neighbor Ramon (Who by the way is from Guadalajara and has an art degree from UofA- just like me. So I call him compadre!) and of course our carpenter.

So here it is, all wrapped up in time for my birthday:  My new tiny house!!

Of course I had to wrap it myself, but hey at 49 we stop caring about those details and are just happy to get something we really want.

Exhaustion incarnate!

Here’s the little cast iron vent going in above the door.

And here it is, our first window in:

Inside view, kitchen window:

7 pm and still going!

The bay window attempt:

More or less installed.  A little less than more actually.  Need an expert opinion here.

Inside view:

Home in time for dinner of celery sticks with peanut butter and to do a couple hours of work on the computer.

But oh what a sense of accomplishment.  I keep telling myself, everytime I get overwhelmed and think something is going to be impossible – “It aint rocket science.  I’m sure I can figure it out.”  But oh how much character I’m building trying to figure all this stuff out.

Posted in Uncategorized
4 comments on “July 15
  1. Elizabeth Miller says:

    Paul sent me the link to your blog. I am so impressed with your little house! You are doing a terrific job. I researched this kind of building when I was living with Mike in a semi-truck last year. We were planning on tearing off the sleeper and putting on a custom designed one, I had designed the new one. Your’s is twice as big as the one I was designing, so that is impressive too!
    I can see how well you are building this and am impressed with the sheep’s wool insulation as well as the flashings etc. Lovely!!
    I imagine you have the interior all planned but if you want me to share a few of the cooler space saving secrets I discovered, let me know! (have you seen the design for a mini pantry (can width) that fits inside the bathroom door frame?) .
    Congratulations on making your dream a reality!
    Love,
    Elizabeth

    • limacatz says:

      Thanks for the encouragement , god knows I need it about now. I like the pantry in a door idea. I lay in bed at night kind of incredulous thinking how weird it is to dream of something for so long and now be sleeping in it. Cool.

  2. D says:

    Can’t wait to see an updated photo of your house!! 🙂
    Miss hearing about you guys.
    D.

Leave a Reply

We have landed and after all the struggle, adventure, drama etc it all seems so worthwhile. We are now parked in a lovely and peaceful place just north of Santa Rosa. Bucolic bliss has become a reality. I got everything on my list: well water, garden, wildlife, quiet (can't even hear airplanes!) and lovely neighbors. Thanks to everyone for the prayers, help, moral support, and patience during this challenging project. About another year and we should be finished.... Ha : )

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

This Tiny Home was one of our first inspirations.
Blog Stats
  • 108,350 hits
