Mercury Retrograde from hell…

So the day after we headed out on our journey Mercury decided to go retrograde.  I knew it was coming but because I am chronically optimistic and desperate to get out of Vegas I went anyway.

We got as far as 5 miles from the camp ground we were going to stay and tragedy struck.

I was following behind in the van (in case you haven’t figured that out yet) while the Uhaul truck was pulling the house.  Along a tiny road in Napa Valley lined with grape vines a tire suddenly came flying at me out of nowhere.  Not just the tire but the big heavy rim as well.  I thought, nah, that didn’t just come flying off of my very expensive brand new trailer supporting the tiny house I just spent a month building?  I hit the breaks and it missed me and so did the cars behind me.  It then flew across into oncoming traffic and managed to miss 2 more cars before it flew off into grape vines.

I spent 45 minutes on the phone trying to figure out how to get a 7 thousand pound tiny house towed.  No luck.

Turns out a Les Schwaub was only a couple miles away so we drove ever so slowly with hazard blinkers on listing heavily to the right as I prayed that the whole house didn’t just decide to lay down in the middle of the highway.

Here is the skid mark the flying tire made on the side of the house:

Here is the very damaged axil and missing wheel.

I spent a few hours hiking through vineyards hunting for the missing tire and finally found it.

Les Schwaub refused to work on it, it was too much of a mess.  We couldn’t really see any remedy to this whole mess so it was a moment of surrender.  After a couple hours of tears and a mini nervous break down.  This is the whole reason I spent so much money on a new custom made trailer in the first place.  So this kind of thing wouldn’t happen.

So we called the guy we bought the trailer from in LA.  He said he would drive up and fix it but it took a few days so we got to camp in the parking lot for a week next to Target and Home Depot (Which we’ve spent so much time in this last month that it felt like we lived there already anyway).

Now every time I see a Les Schwaub I get a homey kinda feeling. Don came up from LA and completely changed both axles, and all 4 tires and then pulled us to our destination.  I’m sure he was cursing the day he met us but hey, at least he had the integrity to come fix the mess.  And nothing like almost watching your project crash and burn to really appreciate what you have.

But before we get to the happy ending  I would like to jump to the moral of the story:

Lest you think this whole tiny house thing is easy sneezy, best think again.  And remember that even without Mercury Retrograde that is a lot of weight to put on 4 wheels and pull a few hundred miles so make sure you get a good trailer!

Cliff hanger number 2?

Yup!

Literally as we climb a mile up a mountain with tiny house on a dirt road and trees that need to be trimmed (which take out part of our new roof).

Stay tuned….

Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “Mercury Retrograde from hell…
  1. Have a look at my custom trailer being painted as we speak! I agree with you and that’s why I decided to get a custom trailer too.

  2. Laura says:

    Thank goodness you squeaked out of this safe and with help from your trusty trailer guy!

    • limacatz says:

      Holding up fairly well under all these storms has been quite the interesting experience. My little “gypsy club house” is weathering them nicely. Will need some sanding and more paint in Spring though. I’m figuring out that this is one of those projects that eats your life. There is no “end” and you’re done. I’m starting to suspect.

Leave a Reply

We have landed and after all the struggle, adventure, drama etc it all seems so worthwhile. We are now parked in a lovely and peaceful place just north of Santa Rosa. Bucolic bliss has become a reality. I got everything on my list: well water, garden, wildlife, quiet (can't even hear airplanes!) and lovely neighbors. Thanks to everyone for the prayers, help, moral support, and patience during this challenging project. About another year and we should be finished.... Ha : )

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

This Tiny Home was one of our first inspirations.
Blog Stats
  • 107,121 hits
