Ah, Bucolic Bliss

While putting the loft insulation and walls the bed moved to the couch and the princess and the pea took a nap:

The ceiling turned out great.  Looks like a boat.  Now that the mad challenge of making a curved ceiling is over I’m glad I did it.

The view from the bedroom window:

And here is the green house structure that hopefully will support the plastic wrap I hope to cover it with in winter.

Princess Pipoca was not pleased with all the hammering but she is mostly putting up with it now that she has a garden to chase lizards in.

She is however most unhappy with the catch and release policy.  Anything that tastes like chicken is quite appealing to her.

I wish you all bliss be it bucolic or otherwise.

Until the next post….

Posted in Uncategorized
5 comments on “Ah, Bucolic Bliss
  1. D says:

    I love these pictures! Kitty looks so cozy on your bed.
    Rounded ceiling is beautiful. I can’t wait to see more!

  2. lee says:

    i’m looking at trailers now. what happened to your axles. was it a weight or manufacturing problem. if you answered this already, sorry i missed it. i’m reading straight through. 50 years old in virginia thinking climbing a loft in 10 years might not be for me….

    • limacatz says:

      Manufacturing problem with axle. Guy drove up from LA to rebuild whole underneath in Target parking lot where we had been stranded for a week. Now I can say I lived at Target, briefly.
      I am going to be optimistic about what shape I will be in when I’m 60 and 70 and since I mostly just sleep upstairs not a whole lot of climbing to do. Bed pan for night time helps to avoid nightly visits downstairs. I made my stairs comfortable to get up and down so I think it will be ok. Hopefully. In 20 years who knows where any of us will be. Hopefully still living in our tiny houses happily playing in the woods and the garden. That’s the plan.

      • ee says:

        Did you take pics while he was rebuilding.. because i’m worried how you would jack up a trailer once it has been built to tiny house weight.. thanks for your reply.

      • limacatz says:

        I stood and watched him rebuild it. Jacking up a 7500 lb trailer is no problem for people used to dealing with boats and freight trailers etc. I think he let his helper build it the first time using crappy material. There were problems with it even as we pulled it out of his driveway but we didnt know enough about trailers to know we should have turned back. Live and learn!!! What I didn’t know I didn’t know until I needed to know it was HUGE!

Leave a Reply

We have landed and after all the struggle, adventure, drama etc it all seems so worthwhile. We are now parked in a lovely and peaceful place just north of Santa Rosa. Bucolic bliss has become a reality. I got everything on my list: well water, garden, wildlife, quiet (can't even hear airplanes!) and lovely neighbors. Thanks to everyone for the prayers, help, moral support, and patience during this challenging project. About another year and we should be finished.... Ha : )

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

This Tiny Home was one of our first inspirations.
Blog Stats
  • 107,121 hits
