Update – working on everything BUT the shower

Sometimes avoidance helps you get a lot done.  Not what you might need done urgently so you can wash the stink off but none the less.

So here’s what I’ve been up to.  A tiny window in the tiny bathroom.

A new compost toilet since none of you tiny house people told me that the Nature’s Head compost toilet was a waste of money.  It is a very VERY expensive glorified portapotty.  A bucket and a toilet seat ($20) works much better.  Now I have a hunk of useless pricey plastic.  Which, btw, goes so counter to the whole intention of tiny house living.  The Nature’s Head does not fully compost it basically does a partial job and then you get to empty the fresh with the semi done.  Did I mention how very difficult it is to clean out?  How they use the kind of plastic that things really stick to?  That the urine bucket needs to be emptied so often that in the short few months I’ve been running this experiment I’ve worn a serious path through the forest to the compost bin?  The reason I decided on this brand is because they made a good case for urine/feces separation.  Honestly the old compost toilets that keep it all together and drop the finished stuff into a drawer below are far superior.  Should have figured – if it ain’t broke don’t fix it.  Oh well.  So far it has been my most costly misjudgment. And let’s celebrate the simplicity of a bucket.  My fellow hardcore neoluddites will approve.  And here she is:

Here’s my new sliding closet doors I just finished.  I made a tactical error that needed to be fixed and it took me awhile to find cabinet doors I could cut and paste together but in the end they turned out very attractive and light weight.  Still trying to decide what color to paint them.  Sorry I didn’t think to move the pillow so you could see them in all their glory.  next time

Here’s a good shot at the kitchen’s evolution.  Painted tile wallpaper, shelves and my favorite– the magnet knife holder I’ve always wanted. I went with light green, teal and terracotta to match the stairs.  Happy colors.  My gypsy wagon is starting to live up to her name.  Just wait til I paint the outside!!

I hung my Tibetan flags and they make the patio so nice.  Here’s a shot from the bedroom window.

A family of 4 deer came to visit the other day.  The mother was very pissed that Pipoca, our cat, was in the garden.  Maybe she thought if it went away she could have my chard.  She walked right up to the fence, stomped and snorted for about 15 minutes then went around to the other side and did the same.  Pipoca just looked over at me hoping I would come to her rescue.  Instead I took photos.  I’m a good mom like that.

I think this was dad with his cute little horns (left) and mom the protector and veggie finder (right). And the twins are in the middle. Everyone looked at my garden wishing they could have at it.  But lucky for me bird netting works on deer!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To top it all off we had one of the best sunsets ever!  This is NOT photo-shopped folks.

And next week, I swear, the shower and plumbing goes in so help me G.  Showering (at friend’s houses) has become a religious experience.  I’m taking a bath at someone’s house next week.  I might be so overcome with joy that I just spontaneously combust, if it weren’t for all the water, of course. 

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized
4 comments on “Update – working on everything BUT the shower
  1. jonell says:

    YOU LIVE IN PARADISE I THINK, AND ITS SO MUCH OF YOUR OWN MAKING! YOUR TILE WALLPAPER LOOKS GREAT AS DOES ALL OF YOUR PLACE! YOU SHOULD OUGHTA BE PROUD. I HOPE SANTA BRINGS YOU A SHOWER!
    jonell

  2. MsDawn says:

    You have a beautiful little house and location! I have 6 acres outside Palestine TX and busy getting a bunch of reclaimed lumber to build 2 guest cabins, rebuild a gutted mobile home and a gutted camper and finish my cabin and my nephew’s cabin. I can’t wait to get started. msdawn.com

  3. Esther Riggs says:

    Interesting concept of the latrine, I had a thought but have not tried, my thought was a person could run a pipe like you do for a sink ‘U’ trap for water to keep the gas from coming back into the unit drain it outside on the south side but into a solar bin to dehydrate the waste. You could even add natural bacteria to sterilize the waste. add a lid that you could open and remove the dehydrated waste and an escape vent for the gas or capture and use the methane? E

    • limacatz says:

      I just have the urinal going to a french drain filled with hay. No smell for the most part. I do “flush” with water occasionally. Need to change the pipe too since the one we have is not appropriate. Thanks tho. Will look into your idea. Eventually when we have land, or are more permanently settled, the lip end of the house is designed to facilitate a large actual compost toilet.

Leave a Reply

We have landed and after all the struggle, adventure, drama etc it all seems so worthwhile. We are now parked in a lovely and peaceful place just north of Santa Rosa. Bucolic bliss has become a reality. I got everything on my list: well water, garden, wildlife, quiet (can't even hear airplanes!) and lovely neighbors. Thanks to everyone for the prayers, help, moral support, and patience during this challenging project. About another year and we should be finished.... Ha : )

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

This Tiny Home was one of our first inspirations.
Blog Stats
  • 104,579 hits
