Tiny house turns 1 year old

I will be turning 50 this year just as my tiny house turns 1.  I have invited my friends and family to contribute to the rite of passage by writing about their own yearly passage and I will post them all  on the happy birthday tiny house page at the end of August.  Anyone who would like to contribute please email me with your offering. 

Deadline:  AUGUST 31st  (Poets full moon in Pisces)
Write a letter to your 16 year old self.   Feel free to include a sub theme of home and community and the how that concept has changed or is changing for you. If you have no offering you are welcome to read the letters from the rest of us.
You may not be turning 50 but it seems like a big birthday year for all of us somehow.  Maybe the collective 2012 b-day of beginning a new era is what makes it feel like that.  Or maybe I’m just projecting.  Either way it seems like a worthy exercise in self discovery and self expression to share with others if you feel so inclined. I’m looking forward to reading all about you and your teenage self. 
Tell your friends and community and lets widen this up to include everyone who is interested.

In the mean time come take a peek at how Home Sweet Home is getting in shape for her/our b-day:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Putting finishing touches on upper loft window/door.  The stargazing deck!

You may notice we’ve doubled the lower deck, recovered it for shade, and painted it green.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is our new outdoor tub:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And shower

I’ve been doing a lot more work on the inside but no pictures yet of the changes.  Rigged a new closet door with help from a great guy at Home Depot named Anthony.  Put shelves under the couch, painted most of the kitchen ceiling white for more light and painted the bathroom turquoise.  Photos soon. I promise.

  Here are some cherry plums from the yard and a garden update:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My tiny milpita (corn field)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And Squash:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Strawberries and herbs:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the new guest house.  Nah, just kidding.  

It would be nice though wouldn’t it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THIS is the real guest house.    Gunslinger and tent not included.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our urban chicken rancher pal Richard showing off his juevos:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And our grand finale!  Way too much fun with a tube of Henna:

Posted in Uncategorized
5 comments on “Tiny house turns 1 year old
  1. Oh, man. I just read your blog start to finish and am so delighted. I love Tiny Houses and I am inspired by your quest. Yay for you and your community. I would love to see your place one day. What an accomplishment!

    I made lots of changes at 60 so it is never too late to begin a new life! Congratulations.

  2. Willowjana says:

    I’m so happy to have come across your blog. The house looks amazing! Several months ago I came across Derek “Deek” Diedricksen’s blog and youtube videos and have fallen in love with tiny homes. I look forward to being able to build my own. Best of luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

We have landed and after all the struggle, adventure, drama etc it all seems so worthwhile. We are now parked in a lovely and peaceful place just north of Santa Rosa. Bucolic bliss has become a reality. I got everything on my list: well water, garden, wildlife, quiet (can't even hear airplanes!) and lovely neighbors. Thanks to everyone for the prayers, help, moral support, and patience during this challenging project. About another year and we should be finished.... Ha : )

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

This Tiny Home was one of our first inspirations.
Blog Stats
  • 102,670 hits
