It doesn’t rain but it pours

I tried very hard to get the house winter ready in fall not suspecting we would have anything but the pleasant mild winter we had last year.  So yes it poured, and we had lightening right above the house for hours and hurricane winds that shook us all night long.  I lay in bed wondering just how good my house design was and if I had put enough screws to keep it together in a storm.  The landlord’s redwood tree snapped in half in the wind, my make shift shower is a bit worse for wear, but the house, thanks to a half dozen more cement blocks on the corners, is still standing.  Hoorah.  Let’s hear it for girl builders!!Here are some pics of me building a deck to protect the house and extend the space for winter:

Sorry about the random photo placement.  WordPress template issues I’m sure.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I went with green deck paint to blend into the landscape.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Had to move the garden due to massive attacks on veggies from unknown beasts so moved it near the house and put up a motion sensor light I got at a garage sale. Not much garden for the winter because of it.  Missed my window of opportunity doing other things.  Oh well.  It has been so wet and cold not sure much would have survived it anyway. Will post a finished photo of it all once the garden fence is up and the sun shines again…

So I needed more light in the living room and went lamp shopping with Perry and Richard virtual and vivo and we saw so many great lights.  Here are a few that inspired me the most:

lampidea1

lampidea3

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

No just kidding. This last one isn’t a lamp.  It was me competing with the art at a gallery for blindingly bright color use.

So here is the lamp I found at the junk yard for $12.   Beautiful eh?  But I saw its potential!  And just you wait…

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

First I ditched the shade.  I’m too old for 70’s retro! Except for clothing apparently.  No sooner was it typed when I looked over at that blouse and realized the mistake.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

They had these gold leaves for a dollar so I got them too.  And I had some red spray paint I thought I could put to good use on this project.KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

And here it is after a nice coat of paint:

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I am wrapping gold leaves all over it now along with some crystals and random beads.  I will post a pic of it just as soon as I rewire it and hang it on the ceiling.  I made a ceiling attachment from wood and mirror to reflect the light downward.  So that’s your cliffhanger for today…

Plumbing pics (I know you’ve been waiting!) and finished lamp coming up next.

Posted in Uncategorized
4 comments on “It doesn’t rain but it pours
  1. Lysarbejder says:

    Holy moly, Cat!! You are a master builder and an accomplished artist!! Past life genes coming to the fore…….?? Beautiful!

    • limacatz says:

      Has to be past life because god knows I don’t know what the heck I’m doing but it seems to be working anyway. Appreciate the compliments. It’s all going directly to my head. My self esteem is quite good now. Thanks.

  2. heidi kooy says:

    gorgeous! i need to come visit your home and get some building tips!

    ________________________________

    • limacatz says:

      Hey Heidi. Wassup? Been thinking about you wondering when you were going to come see my little corner of buccolic bliss.

Leave a Reply

We have landed and after all the struggle, adventure, drama etc it all seems so worthwhile. We are now parked in a lovely and peaceful place just north of Santa Rosa. Bucolic bliss has become a reality. I got everything on my list: well water, garden, wildlife, quiet (can't even hear airplanes!) and lovely neighbors. Thanks to everyone for the prayers, help, moral support, and patience during this challenging project. About another year and we should be finished.... Ha : )

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

This Tiny Home was one of our first inspirations.
Blog Stats
  • 106,119 hits
