VOILA! We got Juevos

And here they is:

-1

And here’s who laid them:

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Sweetest chickens I ever knowed.

We had to do some modifications on the coop since chickens are bigger than we thought they were : }

But it ended up looking pretty good.  We will have to put on a second story if we ever get more. And since they tend to huddle up at night I’m starting to see where the root of the term- being cooped up comes from.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

The entrance is now on the front.  And as you can see they look pretty darned happy with their low rent country shack.

We are happy too, after the back and forth for weeks trying to figure out where in the world to

put the coop, that we picked the right spot.  Since it has been in the 100s we were afraid of ending up with

fried chicken. 

Cath Tree 01 June 23rd 2013

Me in my natural habitat

And because it has been so hellishly hot here we had to put up some shade sails to keep us from frying as well.  The fun part of that is I got to climb the tree I’ve been wanting to go up for some time.  I cheated with a latter since I’m having some serious shoulder issues but the tree is eminently climbable so once I was in it was easy to go up about 2 stories.  The view is great from up there.  A tree house might be in my near future.  Or maybe not since that would require more BUILDING.  And I’m soooo over that!

Smake June 2013

The heat means it is snake season.  Found my kitty playing with this guy who was definitely NOT pleased. Luckily I have her trained better than I thought and so when I asked her to step away from the angry rattler she did.  I think she was relieved to have permission to back down honestly.  She had a very confused look on her face like she didn’t understand how something so skinny and harmless looking could make soooo much racket. 

photo(2)

Yesterday’s breakfast.  Today I had an omelet:  potatoes, tomatoes and basil from the garden and eggs- still warm- from out under the chickens.

And my garden is finally getting good.  Started using the urine from the chamber pot and now everyone is nitrogen happy.

Amending my ways with horse and llama poo too and will make a worm bucket this week since I prefer that kind of composting.  Because I’m lazy. 

If I have to dig one more hole – so help me —-

That said, I was just gifted a whole bunch of plants from a fellow tiny house dweller (his is not on wheels but a fine specimen and possibly smaller than mine). He looks like my friend Paul and they both have people tell them they look like Sean Penn.  Weird world!  

Don  (Sean Penn #3, counting the original of course)  gave me:  Beets, lambs quarters, beans, comfrey etc. and hooked me up with a horse poo connection.   Lovely!  And Richard keeps coming with the flowers which are making my bees so very happy.  If it was up to me there would be no flowers in my garden since I seem to know nothing about making them grow.  Overly focused on the veggies I guess.

You all may be wondering where I’m at with my goal to finish building by August 1st.  Uh, the to-do list is very long but I’m on it baby!  Pipoca has given me an ultimatum.  She, and we, are done living in a construction zone!

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Enough with the drilling and sawing ma! Im TRYING to take a NAP!

Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “VOILA! We got Juevos
  1. Richard says:

    Conesco que tu tiene juevos, even if I had never seen them before. Looking good, and tasting great, Richard

    • limacatz says:

      Thanks Richard for recognizing that fact and you know mis juevos son tus juevos so to speak since these chickens were yours.

  2. Zooey Johnson says:

    Love the coop! The pollos look muy bien! Yo no hablo! lol and thats great youre using your urine for some nitrogen, urine is such a miraculous little thing!

Leave a Reply

We have landed and after all the struggle, adventure, drama etc it all seems so worthwhile. We are now parked in a lovely and peaceful place just north of Santa Rosa. Bucolic bliss has become a reality. I got everything on my list: well water, garden, wildlife, quiet (can't even hear airplanes!) and lovely neighbors. Thanks to everyone for the prayers, help, moral support, and patience during this challenging project. About another year and we should be finished.... Ha : )

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

This Tiny Home was one of our first inspirations.
Blog Stats
  • 102,670 hits
